Product Reviews

Presidents' Choice Precision Burr Coffee Grinder

Ordinary grinders slice coffee beans, releasing bitter oils. Our European-style grinder starts slowly, then gradually speeds up, almost massaging the beans to their brewable best.
Average Customer Rating:
1.933 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
2 out of 10(20%)reviewers would buy this product again.
Customer Reviews for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
Review 1 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by sperson
Location:Peterborough
Do you own other PC Home products?Yes
You cannot keep it from making a mess
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by sperson
Date:October 5, 2008
It grinds fine but the static is such a problem. The ground coffee does not simply spill -- it actually JUMPS off the parts. Even when you get the parts to fit tight, the static generated when grinding results in the grinds flying up to 15 inches from the hopper. As soon as you try to remove the lid it actually jumps out all over the counter. I can't believe it is still on the shelves. At least it should be a 1/3rd of the price so you don't expect much.
Having this on the shelves is really hurting the PC brand. Send us replacement hoppers or pull the product.
Review 2 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by mooseguy
Location:Rodney, ON
Do you own other PC Home products?No
burr-type coffee grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by mooseguy
Date:September 20, 2008
We use this at least once a day and really like it. We only put in the amount of coffee which we are going to use at one time and we haven't had any problems with coffee getting all over the place. It has been working reliably for almost a year and the parts fit well together.
There is a small concern with the static electricity created by the plastic container attracting coffee but we use the same brush to clean that up that we used on our previous grinder which had a metal container for the ground coffee.
Review 3 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by DeeBee
Location:Hinton, AL
Do you own other PC Home products?No
A Cleaning Nightmare
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by DeeBee
Date:September 6, 2008
I've only had this for a few weeks, so I can't comment on longevity. You select the amount you want to grind, but it never does the same amount twice. Sometimes it grinds everything in the hopper when you've only selected 2 cups. The output hopper is plastic and static is a problem. While grinding some coffee leaks through the lid. When you take the lid off after grinding, coffee falls all over the counter. When you take the hopper off the stand more coffee falls on the counter. When you scoop from the hopper more coffee falls off. When you move the stand without the hopper attached yet more coffee escapes. And of course when you reattach the hopper you have more coffee to clean up. It grinds well, but you spend more time cleaning than you do brewing. Sorry I bought it.
Review 4 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by JMunro
Location:Ingersoll, Ont
Do you own other PC Home products?Yes
Very Disappointing
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by JMunro
Date:August 31, 2008
I have gone through 2 of these units in less than a year. The first one lasted about 3 months, before the motor seized solid. The literature stated not to return it to the store, but to call the 1-800 number, after several attempts over a week (busy signal or no answer) I finally spoke to a representative who suggested I take it back to the store. I returned the unit and exchanged it for another one, this one lasted 4 months before the motor seized. I gave up and tossed it. These units were used once every morning, certainly not acceptable.
Review 5 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by CoffeeGirl
Location:St. Catharines
Do you own other PC Home products?Yes
very disappointed
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by CoffeeGirl
Date:April 11, 2008
I thought that this grinder would be the stuff of dreams, but I'm very disappointed. Motor broke approx 3 months after purchase. . .returned for a new one. . .that one lasted about 4 months. What others have said about the cup not fitting after a while was also my experience.
Review 6 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by Randi
Location:Mississauga, Ontario
Do you own other PC Home products?No
PC Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by Randi
Date:February 19, 2008
This is a badly designed product. After a short time using it, the cup that catches the grinds, located on the side, failed to attach to the machine. I had to manually push the cup against the machaine so that the grinds wouldn't blow onto the counter. This product is just a waste of money.
Review 7 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by kwshopper
Location:KW
Do you own other PC Home products?Yes
Uh-oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by kwshopper
Date:February 2, 2008
Can't believe how poorly made this is. Other PC items purchased in the past were quite good ...this isn't worth the money at all. All pieces are cheaply done and I have a feeling will break at any moment. Extremely disappointed overall.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by vivaldi
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Do you own other PC Home products?Yes
Particular grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by vivaldi
Date:December 7, 2007
I loved the design, in order to use it! not mercy-full.
It requires a flat surface, the container which collects
the final grounds falls of and the lid pops off several times during the process
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by Shannon
Location:Regina
Do you own other PC Home products?No
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by Shannon
Date:October 31, 2007
Burr grinders can be expensive so we snapped this one up, perhaps too quickly. The lids for the resevoirs are awkwardly placed, flimsy, and do not stay on. The countertop placement has to be horizontal which takes up more space than we were able to give it. The machine performed as expected but it has some design issues.
Review 10 for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by wfeddern
Location:Cambridge, Ontario
Do you own other PC Home products?Yes
great for coffee or espresso
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Craftsmanship: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by wfeddern
Date:September 28, 2007
I use this with great results with both a bodum style coffee maker on coarse grind, and on extra fine grind for my saeco espresso maker. Works well for both. Not on the same level as a good >100 conical burr grinder, but this is miles ahead of blade grinders you usually see at this price level.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Precision Burr Coffee Grinder
Based on the average of 5 ratings-only reviews
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5