Product Reviews

Presidents Choice PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew

All the beer flavour you love, without the alcohol. It takes quailty hops and malted barley to make it this good!
Average Customer Rating:
3.293 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
8 out of 14(57%)reviewers would buy this product again.
Customer Reviews for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
Review 1 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by ericaw86
Great taste!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by ericaw86
Date:June 25, 2012
A little light in body for a red "beer" but all in all you'd never know it was de-alcoholized. Definitely a great compromise!
Review 2 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by MaxP
new red brew tastes awfull
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by MaxP
Date:November 5, 2010
new red brew tastes awfull. You guys at PC ever read the comments ? Nobody likes it ! Get back to the old receipe.
Review 3 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by jastelpstra
totally disappointing
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by jastelpstra
Date:June 1, 2010
The new red brew is a big disappointment. I was so glad that I could have a refreshing drink low in calories and carbohydrates that tasted very good. This new de-alcoholized beer has twice the calories and carbs than the former one and it doesn't taste nearly as good. Why did you change it? I won't be buying any more until you bring the old one back, in fact, I'll probably throw out the case I bought. I had to give it one star because there wasn't a way I could give it no stars.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by r_p
Original Recipe to return
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by r_p
Date:May 27, 2010
I spoke to a rep today who told me that the new Red Brew was not intended the receipe will return to the original version once this batch is all gone. He speculated that it would be about a month or so. Hope not as I really liked the original recipe and would prefer not to be stuck with a goof up.
I will buy the original version again - but not the new one. I will also increase my rating once the original version is in stores.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by Anonymous
Was my favourite, now I won't drink it. Why change
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by Anonymous
Date:May 25, 2010
I am so incredibly disappointed in the decision to change this product.
I used to love the PC Red Brew dealcoholozed beer (the one shown in the picture)
It was only 50 calories and had that satisfying, slightly bitter, full bodied beer taste but practically no alcohol.
Perfect for so many reasons, it was my drink of choice and boy, did I ever buy a lot of it! Case after case after case!
But now when you go to buy it, the product has changed.
It is NOT JUST THE LABEL (as the stock-persons tried to convince me), they have changed the product itself.
Now it is very sweet and tastes like beer-flavoured soda-pop.
Calories are as high as soda now and sugars too.
Now this is not the drink for me, I will not buy it.
I am very disappointed.
Who made the choice to change it???
This was a mistake.
Change it back to the old recipe, please!
Summer is here and we need a cold refreshing pseudo-beer!
Review 6 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Hockey Dad
What have you changed PC Red Brew? Big Mistake!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Hockey Dad
Date:May 16, 2010
I am not one who is normally given to brand loyalty or even lodging a consumer complaint, but I want to add my voice to the others who are displeased with the new Red Brew formula that doubles the calorie content to 100 per can and ups the sugar content. For years I have recommended PC Red to friends because of all it's benefits: great taste, low calories, refreshment without the alcoholic buzz and at $6 bucks for a case, it's one of the greatest deals going. I don't even drink regular beer anymore. And I have won over many converts. Yesterday I went into my local No Frills to stock up and was very disappointed to see the new-formula product. I was stunned. Why would you tamper with such a good thing? Whatever was Loblaws thinking? I don't know if our voices will be heard, but please revert to the former product.
I want to add just one more thought. Recently I was diagnosed as being pre-Diabetic. At a group meeting with a dietician at my hospital, I extolled Red as a great alternative to alcoholic beer for Diabetics. The dietician agreed. She may have second thought now, as will I. I will probably buy PC Red again, but not as frequently as before this change.
Not good, folks.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by Anonymous
Very disapointed!
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by Anonymous
Date:May 10, 2010
I used to buy this beer regularly, then the store was out for little while. Today I saw it there, new box, new looking can, I brought it home. Tasted delicious BUT when I saw that it's now DOUBLE the calories, I won't be buying another box. 100 calories is very close to any light beer.
So, sorry but you just gave up a steady buyer.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by ggoudreau
Why Why Why???
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by ggoudreau
Date:May 3, 2010
During my pregnancy I was worried about my sugar levels and obviously did not want to drink alcohol so I tried your de-alcoholized beer and loved IT. After the baby was born I continued to drink it because I think the hops helps milk production plus I enjoyed having something other than water. Several other moms I know also started drinking it. We all loved the red brew so why on earth did you change it and add more sugar. I no longer like the taste as much and neither do any of my friends. Do pregnant moms and breastfeeding moms a favour and bring back the red brew!!! I'm only giving one star for the new red brew. I would have gave 5 for the old.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by tmackin
Why did you change?
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by tmackin
Date:May 1, 2010
I totally agree with all the comments about how excellent the PC red beer was. 50 calories, no sugar, tasy, better for you than pop! Hugely popular, so why on earth did you change the product to double the calories??? Please please reconsider and bring back the old product!!!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by pscully
PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by pscully
Date:April 27, 2010
One star because you have changed the product -doubling the calories (by adding corn syrup?) and put sulphites in it. These changes and others have contributed to a taste change that I don't like.
Prefer the previous form.
I see from other comments that my experience of it frequently being out of stock was common.
Why change something that you were having difficulty meeting the demand for?
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by BrianF
Location:Toronto, ON
Did you love this product?Yes
PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by BrianF
Date:April 15, 2009
This is by far the best tasting Non-Alcoholic beer I have ever tasted. Another plus is that it is only 50 calories per can. The only problem is the availability of it which is sporadic. Too bad!!!!
Review 12 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by rustonbeach
Location:Belle River
Did you love this product?Yes
becoming hard to find
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by rustonbeach
Date:April 10, 2009
I am having an increasingly difficult time procuring. A product this popular should be in all your stores ALL the time. When your docter says quit drinking or die, Red Brew is the answer.
Review 13 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Crusher517
Location:Montreal, QC
Did you love this product?Yes
I Love This Beer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Crusher517
Date:June 27, 2008
This has got to be the best de-alcoholized beer ever. It is a wonderful find for people who can't drink alcohol or designated drivers, but an even better find for people who don't care for the taste of lager or pilsner non-alcoholic beers. I try to keep it on hand year-round, and keep a case stashed at my cousin's in the US for holiday gatherings! They should sell this stuff in bars - it's far more enjoyable than the current non-alcoholic offerings.
Review 14 for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by ArchP
Location:Montreal
Did you love this product?Yes
Excellent alcohol-reduced product
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by ArchP
Date:August 31, 2007
This "Red Brew" (Rousse--in French) de-alcoholized beer product is tasty, contains less than 0.5% alcohol and less than 50 calories.
My only gripe is that stocking is spotty (long stretches of non-availability)/
Ratings-Only Reviews for PC De-alcoholized Beer - Red Brew
Based on the average of 27 ratings-only reviews
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5