Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Presidents Choice PC Extra Dark Chocolate

Irresistible imported extra dark pure chocolate, ideal for snacking or baking.
Average Customer Rating:
4.157 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would buy this product again.
Customer Reviews for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
Review 1 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Frietzen
Superb Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Frietzen
Date:November 23, 2012
This chocolate has the perfect, smooth consistency for eating by itself. It has no grittiness like some dark chocolates, and it snaps like fresh, quality chocolate should.
I have never bought this product to find inconsistencies, or "sugar" or "fat bloom"(this is when some chocolate changes colour or develops whiter/grey patches); this also speaks to its freshness.
The simple ingredients are pleasing; I know exactly what they are.
All in all, this is a top-quality product which I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a chocolate meant for eating by itself or with a coffee.
Once again, President's Choice has fulfilled my desire for quality.
Review 2 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Anonymous
My Ultimate Choclate Biscotti
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Anonymous
Date:December 3, 2011
Through out the year I choose this chocolate to bake my Biscotti. I chop up the entire block into irregular pieces so as to keep the look of the biscotti rustic. It holds well while cooking. I cook the biscotti twice and I have no problem with the chocolate melting and making a mess on my cookie sheets. I love the fact that the chocolate is from France. I give these biscotti's as gifts with a tag showing the ingredients. France gives it an international flare. The taste is perfect when it comes eating the biscotti. You can hold the biscotti without the mess of the chocolate melting on your hands. The taste of the chocolate is a perfect balance. The only chocolate that I use. I buy several and pop them in the freezer,. The wrapping protects the chocolate from absorbing other food smells. Thank you for providing the chocolate for my biscotti.
Review 3 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by jazzkid
Location:BC
good value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by jazzkid
Date:April 23, 2009
It's priced right - you probably won't be able to find a better value with other brands. My only dislike is that it tastes a bit too sweet comparing other 72% dark cholocate in the market.
Review 4 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Preparation Instructions (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by CrystalD
Location:Ottawa, ON
Did you love this product?Yes
Great for chocolate cravings!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Preparation Instructions (if applicable): 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by CrystalD
Date:September 16, 2008
I love this chocolate! It is rich, creamy, and always satisfying. I find that one square is always enough to satisfy my chocolate cravings after dinner. It's inexpensive compared to Lindt and Cadbury but has exception quality. The only thing negative about this product is that it is so hard to find because they always run out in my store! I know I am not the only one who loves this.
Review 5 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Nick
Location:Toronto
Did you love this product?Yes
Enjoyable for dark chocolate lovers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Nick
Date:May 25, 2008
I liked this bar. I found it quite tasty for the high percentage it was. It was at least as smooth and creamy as most dark chocolate bars of the same percentage that I've had. It's definitely a bargain. It's hard to find chocolate for close to $1 for 100 grams.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by Chocoholic
Location:Ontario
Did you love this product?Yes
Great for baking, not so much for eating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by Chocoholic
Date:March 7, 2008
This is my go-to chocolate for recipes that call for semi-sweet or bitter sweet chocolate and I always try to keep a bar or two in the pantry for baking. As a tasting chocolate, however, I don't enjoy it as much as its predecessor. I prefer something around 64-68%. 72% is a little high for my tastes and there are other 72% chocolates on the market with better flavour and texture. That's not to say I haven't been caught snacking on a piece of this bar to subdue a chocolate craving but I am less apt to eat this chocolate before it makes its way into whatever baked goods it was originally intended for. Once it has made its way into a batch of brownies it is definitely a winner.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by QSpike
Location:saskatoon
Did you love this product?No
Less taste; poorer value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by QSpike
Date:February 2, 2008
Perhaps all high-cocoa bars have less taste, but the old 500 gm Bittersweet Rich Dark Chocolate wins hands down over this new bar - both in terms of taste and value
Review 8 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by blueoreo
Location:burlington, On
Did you love this product?Yes
Great new product
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for Money: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by blueoreo
Date:January 15, 2008
I loved this dark chocolate. only neded a small piece to feel satisfied.
would definitley buy it again
Review 9 for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by seedbeads
Location:Brantford, ON
Did you love this product?No
Tasteless.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flavour/Taste (if applicable): 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for Money: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by seedbeads
Date:December 19, 2007
I really didn't like this chocolate at all. Unlike other high-cocoa chocolates, this one is bitter with next to no other taste. I found it very dry and bland.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PC Extra Dark Chocolate
Based on the average of 42 ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5